Women’s Major ANA Inspiration will be without fans; Aditi has played last 3 editions

August 9: The ANA Inspiration, one of women’s golf’s five Majors, where Indian Aditi Ashok has teed up each of the last three years, will be without fans when the 2020 edition is held from September 10 – 13 at Mission Hills Country Club, Rancho Mirage, California. It will be the first women’s Major of the year.

The event is held at the same course each year. Founded as the Kraft Nabisco Championship in 1972 by David Foster and Dinah Shore, it was. Designated as a major championship in 1983.  It has been contested at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif., since its inception.

Aditi Ashok has played the ANA Inspiration each year since 2017. Her best finish at ANA in three starts has been T-42 in 2017. She missed the cut in 2018 and 2019.

This historic Major, postponed from its traditional March date, will be going ahead without spectators for the 49th edition following close consultation with all the stakeholders.

“We respect the LPGA’s decision to conduct the tournament and to do so without the fans onsite. It was a difficult, but right choice in order to ensure the safety and health of players, caddies, and staff,” said Shigeru Hattori, Senior Vice President of The Americas, All Nippon Airways Co. Ltd. “The usual competitive spirit of the players will be inspirational to all of the viewers at home.”

“We appreciate the friendship of our partners at ANA, who continue to support the LPGA Tour through these unprecedented times,” said Mike Whan, LPGA Tour Commissioner. “

Fans will be able to watch the ANA Inspiration on Golf Channel and Sky Sports and follow along for enhanced content on social @ANAinspiration and the tournament website ANAinspiration.com.

The ANA Inspiration 2021 will be the historic 50th edition.

The history of the ANA Inspiration

The ANA Inspiration is golf’s first major and one of the LPGA Tour’s most prestigious events. Previously known as the Kraft Nabisco Championship, the tournament was founded in 1972 by David Foster and Dinah Shore and earned the designation as a major championship in 1983.

It has been contested at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif., since its inception,

The ANA Inspiration holds the distinction of being the second oldest golf tournament continuously held at the same course.

Traditions: Among the traditions at the event is the champion’s leap into Poppie’s Pond, located adjacent to the 18th green. In 1988, the first champion’s leap into Poppie’s Pond was taken by Amy Alcott, and since has become one of the most anticipated and memorable traditions in golf.


Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

Johnson tops a packed leaderboard as Woods moves out of the frame

Read Next

Sullivan ends a five-year title drought with a 7-shot win at English Champs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!